Transportation / Mobility

October 6, 2009


METI Selects Eight 'EV & pHV Towns' for Promotion

Keywords: Energy Conservation Government Local government Transportation / Mobility 

Japan's Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI) announced on March 31, 2009, that it has selected "EV & pHV Towns" in eight prefectures, where programs to promote the use of electric vehicles (EVs) and plug-in hybrid vehicles (pHVs) will be conducted. By establishing successful models in these prefectures, for example, by creating initial demand and developing battery charging infrastructure, the ministry aims to spread the use of electric vehicles nationwide.

A total of eleven prefectures submitted concrete policy proposals for promoting EVs & pHVs and were reviewed from aspects such as effectiveness in reducing carbon dioxide emissions, cost-effectiveness, innovation and regional compatibility. As a result, eight prefectures (Tokyo, Kanagawa, Aichi, Aomori, Fukui, Nagasaki, Kyoto and Niigata) were selected. The ministry is now planning to disseminate more than 25,000 units of EVs and pHVs throughout the eight prefectures by 2013.

Posted: 2009/10/06 06:00:15 AM